Lessons from Kabali – south Indian super stars need to know their limits

kabali hit or flop

India or Malaysia – I am always the messiah

J.Vishnu Shankar

I too eagerly waited for the first reviews of Kabali like many other film buffs. No, let me clarify first that I am not a fan of Rajnikanth. Nor do I have anything against him. I respect him for what he has achieved. It is not easy for every other hero to whip up a fan frenzy like he does. But when I see I movie, I am more bothered about what I am watching rather than whom I am watching.

I have not seen Kabali. I am not the first-day-first-show type. But I read reviews of the anticipated films particularly when the promotion goes beyond a point. And it was clear from the very first reviews of Kabali that the film has disappointed.

What is it with southern heroes that they can disappoint big time ? This year  big movies of big stars like Pawan Kalyan, Mahesh Babu and Surya have failed spectacularly. Rajnikanth will soon join the list in a few days.

The problem with southern superstars is that they truly think that they can get away doing the same thing again and again. They hardly try anything different. They are prisoners of their own images and are scared of doing anything even remotely removed from what their fans expect from them.

Coming to Rajnikanth, except for his character in Robot, he has always played a messiah out to save the masses. Whether it is Shivaji, Linga or many other films of the 80s and 90s, it is the same template that his directors follow. Come on.. how long can his directors find new bottles for this old wine ? So they move the stories to different settings and countries. From being a messiah in Tamil Nadu which he normally is, Rajni this time moves to Malaysia to become a messiah there. But even then there is nothing more that can be added to the story than trying to infuse a cause, bring out a villain and show some heroism.

The fact is these stories don’t work anymore. It is time southern superstars re-invent themselves. And it also time that older superstars like Rajnikanth, Chiranjeevi, Kamal Hasan, Mammotty, Mohan lal etc either play roles of their age or simply retire gracefully. They have their place in history which nobody can take away. Better to be content and step down !!

Leave a Reply

