Andhra Pradesh government has initiated steps to develop 10 new ports in the state, the Legislative Assembly was informed on Monday. The 10 new ports are Bhavanapadu Port, Narsapur Port, Ramayapatnam Port, Machilipatnam Port, Kakinada SEZ Port (captive), Meghavaram Port (captive), Nakkapalli Port (captive), Nizampatnam and Vodarevu and Dugarajapatnam Port.

  • The Centre has been requested to develop the Dugarajapatnam Port in Nellore district (major port) as per the Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Act, chief minister N Chandrababu Naidu said in a written reply to a question from D Narendra Kumar (TDP) and four others.
  • The Kakinada SEZ Port (captive), Meghavaram Port (captive) and Nakkapalli Port (captive) have been awarded to different developers who have been requested to take up the development work, he said.
  • Land has been identified for the Bhavanapadu Port in Srikakulam district, while the process of identifying land is on for the Narsapuram, Ramayapatnam and Machilipatnam ports, Naidu added.
  • Legal issues are pending vis-a-vis the ports at Nizampatnam and Vodarevu in the state, which has a long coastline of 974 kms.

Click the image to zoom

10 proposed ports in Andhra pradesh
10 proposed ports in Andhra pradesh