why 30,000 acres for ap's new capitalThe AP government has prepared a draft map for the outer ring road (ORR) in the capital region covering Vijayawada, Tenali and Guntur. Officials have proposed two road bridges across the river Krishna, which will come up in the upstream and downstream of Prakasam barrage respectively, in Vijayawada.

According to the proposed alignment map, the bridge in the upstream of Prakasam barrage will connect Guntur and Krishna districts between Amaravati and Mogulluru. The bridge in the downstream will cross river Krishna near Bhatlapenumarru in Krishna district and again join at Jampani in Guntur district.

Sources said the 180-km-long ORR will take off from NH-5 near Hanuman Junction and go through Ramapuram, Tummalapalli, Nandivada, Gudivada, Pamarru and Bhatlapenumarru before crossing the river. The ORR will then pass through Jampani, Chinaravuru (outskirts of Tenali), Veliveru and Vejendla before entering Guntur city. From Guntur city, it will pass through Perecherla, Siripuram, Lingamguntla, Pedakurapadu, Tammavaram and reach Amaravati where it will cross the Krishna to land on the other end in Krishna district at Mogullur.

From Mogullur, it will pass through Kanchikacherla, Alluru, outskirts of Mylavaram, outskirts of Nuzvid and Meerjapuram before touching Hanuman Junction.

This is how you can read the map. (Zoom the image by clicking on it)

  • The outer most 172 km BLUE CIRCLE will be the ring road around the whole area of the Andhra Capital Region (ACR).
  • The 192 km RED circle will be officially declared as the Andhra Capital Region.
  • The 86 km GREEN circle is the the two by pass roads which will bypass Vijayawada but can give access to other parts of ACR.
  • The ORANGE lines are the present National Highways.

Now if you ask where exactly is the state administrative area comprising assembly, secretariat, CM office etc are going to come up, we can only say what our best guess is.

It will be somewhere on the banks of Krishna facing the rivers and probably between Amaravati and Thullur.


Andhra Capital Region map