Andhra Pradesh government has set up a task force comprising several industry bigwigs under the chairmanship of chief minister N Chandrababu Naidu. With the who’s who of the Indian business world on board, Naidu is trying to not only rope in their expertise to identify strategies to trigger development but also ensure that they would themselves bring in more business to the new state.

Among the noted industry honchos in the task force are

  1. Godrej Group chairman Adi Godrej,
  2. ICICI Bank chairman KV Kamath,
  3. Wipro Group chairman Azim Premji,
  4. Sudaram Clayton chairman Venu Srinivasan,
  5. Hero Corporate chairman Sunil Kant Munjal,
  6. CII director general Chandrajit Banerjee,
  7. Tata Consultancy Services Limited vice chairman S Ramadorai,
  8. GVK Industries chairman GV Sanjay Reddy,
  9. CEO and co-chairman of Dr Reddy Laboratories GV Prasad,
  10. Apollo Hospitals Enterprises executive director Shobana Kamineni,
  11. Amararaja Batteries managing director Jay Galla,
  12. Tata Project managing director Vinayak Deshpande,
  13. Nasscom former chairman Kiran Karnik,
  14. Peepul Capital’s Srini Raju and
  15. NIIT group’s Rajendra Pawar.

Representatives of Ficci, Assocham, Fapcci, ALEAP, COWE and Fapsia were also made members of the task-force, which will be effective for three years and will meet at least once every three months in the first year. The task-force will suggest strategies and guidelines for implementation in identified focus areas of industrial investment promotion